Skip to content

Chocolate Zucchini Bread

August 29, 2010

My mamma sent me home last weekend with a bag full of garden goodies. Plump red tomatoes, cucumbers the length of my forearm, and zucchinis the size of my cat.  You think I’m joking?

I love zucchini, but my husband does not.  He promised he would eat it if it came in the form of a sugary, buttery bread. Nothing says love like a little old church lady’s recipe, right?

Chocolate Zucchini Bread (from my hometown church cookbook)

3 eggs

1 cup oil

2 cups sugar

2 tsp vanilla

2 1/2 cups flour

1/2 cup cocoa powder

3 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. salt

2 cups zucchini

Preheat oven to 350. Mix ingredients with spoon in order listed and pour batter into 2 greased loaf pans.  Bake for 50-60 minutes. Serve warm and slabbed with peanut butter (ok I added the last part myself, but I highly recommend it).

I suppose one could make this healthier by subbing applesauce for the oil, but I wanted to do my mamma’s zucchini’s and the little old lady’s recipe justice and keep it as is.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

