Skip to content

This is me and I’m owning it

September 1, 2010

I hesitate to call myself a “healthy” lifestyle blogger.  I don’t know about you, but nearly all the “healthy” bloggers I read blog about their daily eats which, of course, always seem to include a bowl of oatmeal or a green monster smoothie. They exercise 10 hours a day by running 15 miles, biking 100, and then swimming a mile.  They rarely drink, refuse to touch the crusty white bread at restaurants, and shudder at the idea of using real butter in their “cookies.”  Many of them are vegetarians or even vegans.  At one point, I tried to be and do all of those things, but that’s not me…and Sorry I’m not sorry.

I hate labels, but they are what identify and categorize us. Here are mine:

I’m a wife.  I love my husband. He is my rock. Our relationship is not perfect, nor will it ever be.  Marriage and relationships are hard work, dammit, and I refuse to pretend it’s anything but.

I’m a law student.  I’m busy. There is always something to do.  This can make me cranky and stressed.  I am surrounded by type A personalities all day every day.  Law school makes me stay up late hours and lose sleep.  Even when I sleep, I recite arguments and case-law in my head. It sucks.  As a result, I sometimes skip workouts.  I don’t have two or three hours to spend in the gym.  Sometimes, I don’t even have a half hour.  Some days, I don’t even exercise. I confess, there may even be three or four days in a row I don’t get a workout in, and I refuse to feel badly about it.

I’m an athlete, or I used to be and am “triing” to be again. I sign up for races.  I am overambitious. Have I mentioned the duathlon at the end of this month and the ten-mile race at the beginning of October? I haven’t really trained, but I’m doing the best I can given my circumstances.

I’m a totally foodie. I love food, period. I love food that’s really good for me. I love food that’s really bad for me.  Growing up, my ma had dinner on the table every night. In our family, every meal was a celebration, time spent together as a family.  I hope to carry that belief onto my own family.  Food, both good and “bad,” is meant to be enjoyed, and trust me, I truly enjoy the way a fresh apple crisps in my mouth or the way bacon smells as it crackles on the stove top in the morning or even how using real butter in chocolate chip cookies makes them melt in my mouth. Some of my favorite things include brats, bacon, butter, bread, and beer {can you tell I’m German?}, and no, I’m not sorry about it.

So those are my labels.  They make me who I am, and I’m owning it.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. eatmovewrite permalink
    September 1, 2010 7:35 pm

    I’m not the typical healthy food blogger either. I’m not sorry either. My blog is about to undergo a major transformation, all in becoming whoever I really am. There’s room for all of us out here!

    • September 1, 2010 7:38 pm

      Thanks for the comment. I’m excited to see the transformation on your blog. I can already tell my blog will just evolve over time and hopefully be perfectly reflective of me!

  2. September 2, 2010 3:04 pm

    rock it girl, you’re awesome 🙂

  3. September 3, 2010 9:39 pm

    Thanks so much for posting about what you own! And I feel ya on the hesitating to label yourself a healthy living blogger — I’m glad you don’t by into the “expected” lifestyle. We need to see more of this!

    • September 3, 2010 9:57 pm

      Thanks for the comment Rachel and for starting these posts. I look forward to reading many, many more of these “owning it” posts.

  4. September 7, 2010 8:18 pm

    I love this post and am so inspired to write my own version. Maybe tomorrow.

  5. September 8, 2010 10:18 pm

    I could not agree more with the foodie part! Just sub Irish/Italian for German and that is me! Thanks for sharing CJ and best wishes on your law school adventures!

Trackbacks

  1. This is how I got here | Just Gotta Tri
  2. Meet the Owners 9/8/10
  3. Finding Your Label |

Leave a Reply

