Skip to content

Taking it up a notch- healthy zucchini muffins

September 3, 2010

I have zucchini coming out of my ears right now.  After eating the entire loaf of chocolate zucchini bread in 3 days by myself, I decided I needed to find a slightly healthier carbolicious treat to enjoy with my morning protein shake.  I came across this recipe last weekend.  I didn’t have everything in my little pantry to replicate it, so I adventured a little and made the recipe my own.  The result was a moist and hearty muffin.

The players, minus a few. Sorry brown sugar. I forgot all about you!

The music. {like you don’t have a dance party every time you bake}

And go.

 

All combined.

Turn into this.

Amazing.

C.J.’s Take On Healthy Zucchini Muffins as adapted from Ashley @ the edible perspective

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup white flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 5 tbsp oil
  • ¾ cup brown sugar
  • ¼ cup maple syrup
  • 3 eggs
  • 4 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups zucchini
  • 2 tbsp apple juice
  1. Pre-heat your oven to 350.
  2. In a medium bowl, mix your dry ingredients. I suppose you could sift, but I never do because I don’t have a sifter.
  3. In a large bowl combine your wet ingredients.  Whisk by hand or with a mixer until well combined.
  4. Combine your wet and dry ingredients.
  5. Fold in the zucchini.
  6. If batter seems too dry, add tbsp apple juice. You want a gooey batter.
  7. Grease a 12 muffin tin.
  8. Pour in batter and spread so it’s level or fill muffin tins 2/3 of the way.
  9. Bake muffins for  18-22 minutes.  Knife test to be sure they are done.  The knife should come out clean.
  10. Let cool and enjoy!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

