Skip to content

Reason to Celebrate

September 15, 2010

Last Tuesday a huge weight was lifted off my shoulders.  I received news that I will have a job next fall contingent on passing the bar.  Although I won’t share exactly what this job entails until everything is set in stone, I can say that it is something I wanted since beginning law school and worked extremely hard to get.  To say the hubs and I are ecstatic to see where this new journey will take us is an understatement.  Come this past weekend, we were ready to celebrate.

http://www.brasa.us/

We live down the street from some great local restaurants.  La Brasa is no exception.  My supervising attorney took me there last spring as a send off to my summer in Cali.  I enjoyed the whole experience and was glad I could convince my husband to join me this go round.

Dishes can be served individually or family style.  Since I love to try new things, the family style option is right up my alley.

September blog 036

The menu boasts of its “100 % natural, locally produced and organic products.” Yes, please.

We started the night out right: local brew.

I enjoyed the Oktoberfest.

September blog 034

And J enjoyed the EPA.

September blog 035

For our sides we opted for the creamed spinach and jalapeño, yucca fries, and corn bread.  For our main courses I ordered the shredded pork with mole and J ordered the fried cat fish.

September blog 043

All of it was delicious.  J’s cat fish were flakey and not “fishy” tasting at all.  My shredded pork melted in my mouth.  The mole was subtle but distinctly present.  J was unsure of the yucca fries at first, but they soon won him over {just as I knew they would}. He loved the creamed spinach, but I was impartial.  I think it’s because their collard greens, which I ordered last time, are so much tastier.

La Brasa was a perfect way to celebrate the end to a great week.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 12, 2010 4:35 pm

    Wasn’t Brasa amazing?!?! I’m glad you liked it!

    Congratulations on the job “offer” as well! Now on to the bar!

Leave a Reply

