Skip to content

My “bing” place

October 24, 2010

I received an email today from a long time friend.  She moved to Spain upon graduating last June.  She sends out weekly updates describing her adventures.  From these emails, it’s evident just how happy she is.  This girl is going places.

Today, she described Spain as her “bing” place —  a place where you feel whole and happy, where you can be yourself, where things make sense.  Of course, this immediately sent me into a tailspin.

A “bing” place? A “bing” place! I must have a “bing” place.  Where the hell is my “bing” place?

I got real excited and continued to think. 

I’ve spent short amounts of time living in Ecuador and Costa Rica.  While both of those experiences were amazing and I felt extremely happy and content to be there, they weren’t my “bing” place. 

Then I thought about my experience living in California.  I immediately felt at home there.  I met amazing people.  I long to go back and visit.  But that wasn’t my “bing” place either.  It was more like an extended vacation with a specified beginning and end. Whenever I started to miss my family, I knew I would be returning to the comforts of my own home soon enough.

After pondering some more on this idea of a “bing” place, it started to dawn on me that my “bing” place goes with me wherever I am living.  My “bing” place is my kitchen.  It’s my “I’m stressed or happy or excited or sad” place.  It’s where I go to zone out after a long day.  It’s the one place I’m not afraid to make mistakes.  It’s where I dance around like crazy and sing my lungs out while listening to musical soundtracks.  It’s where I get to share what I’m passionate about with others.  No matter what I’m doing in the kitchen, it’s the one place I’m always living in the now. 

The kitchen is my “bing” place. What’s yours?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2010 10:20 pm

    I wish I knew where mine was!!! After my trip to Cozumel I have been seriously questioning whether I really want to live in Minnesota for the rest of my life or not. I like being in a bigger city, I like the outdoors, and I love all four seasons…but I don’t think I would miss long, harsh winters, and it might be nice to live near the ocean.

    • October 25, 2010 10:21 pm

      I also wanted to write that I like that your “bing” place can go with you wherever you go 🙂

      • October 26, 2010 3:00 am

        I am quite partial to my “bing” place 😉

        I long to live by the ocean. I think northern California would be perfect. You still get some kind of change in seasons and you have the beautiful coast line.

        I’m excited to hear about your trip!

Leave a Reply

