Skip to content

Soupy Sunday: The chili that rivals your momma’s

October 24, 2010

Come football weather I deem Sundays as my soup days.  I make a big crock of whatever I’m feeling and eat it the rest of the week.

As the weather has been getting cooler, I’ve been hankering for some chili.  I don’t know about you guys, but my mom has a mean chili recipe.  I love it so much that we did a chili bar at our wedding rehearsal dinner with my mom’s chili.

Chili is my ultimate cool weather comfort food.  I’ve been trying for three years now to emulate my mom’s chili.  I can finally say I have my own recipe that rivals my mothers.  I think the secrets in the cocoa powder and beer.

Fall 2010 042

Chili that rivals your momma’s slightly adapted from The Pioneer Woman Cooks

serves 6

1 lb 85% ground beef (ground turkey would work as well)

1 small yellow onion

2-3 cloves garlic

dash hot sauce

salt (Always to taste.  Start small.)

1/2 tbsp oregano

1 tsp cayenne pepper

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tbsp cocoa powder

1 bottle beer (I used Corona because it’s what I had.  Use something you like.  Remember, cooking only concentrates the flavor.  Never cook with something you wouldn’t drink.)

20 oz diced tomatoes with green chilies

30 oz tomato sauce

1/4 cup masa (Mexican corn flour.  I found it at Target in their Mexican food section.  Any larger grocer should have this.)

2 cans kidney beans

Heat olive oil and a pat of butter in the crock you want to cook your chili.  Begin browning meat in separate pan so you can drain the fat.  I actually browned mine in some bacon grease because that’s what was left in my cast iron.

Once meat begins to brown, add chopped onion and garlic into the olive oil and butter to cook until translucent.  Keep at a medium heat as to not burn your garlic.  Burnt garlic is never fun.  Once the onions look cooked, add in your meat.  Let cook together for a minute or 2.  Add your seasonings.  I never really measure but rather guestimate.  I also don’t really go in a particular order.  Let the onion and meat mixture get to know the seasonings for another minute or 2.

Open your beer and take a swig.  Tastes good, right?  Remember our rule! Add a little bit of beer to the crock so everything has a little bit of juice to cook in.  Let simmer until the beer cooks down.  Add in your cans of diced tomatoes.  Add your tomato sauce.  Let this all simmer for an hour.

Once your hour is up, mix the masa in a bowl with some beer to create a pasty mixture.  The masa is going to give your chili some extra texture and a hint of corn flavor.  Stir the masa mixture into the chili.  Add the kidney beans.  Simmer for another 45 minutes.  The longer this chili sits, the better it tastes.

Now the rest is up to you.  If you like your chili thick, leave it as is.  You can always add more masa because it acts as a thickening agent.  If you like it a bit thinner, add some more beer or even water.  It’s totally up to you.  Your kitchen, your taste buds, your recipe!

I always top my chili with grated cheddar cheese and sour cream.

What’s your favorite chili toppings?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

