Skip to content

Fall Favorites: Apple Butter

October 31, 2010

Nothing says fall like a crispy, tart apple.  I mean, there are a ton of other reasons I love fall, but apples make the season for me.

Fall 2010 072

I remember as a little girl standing in the kitchen while my mother peeled apples for pie.  I would sneak all the peelings.  The bright red color, the tartness of the peel, and the smell of cinnamon and nutmeg remain pressed in my memory for forever.

Although I have yet to master an apple pie, I make a mean apple crisp.  After today, I am convinced I also make a mean apple butter.

Despite the butter label, apple butter does not contain any dairy.  Instead, think of apple butter as a super concentrated apple sauce.  Swap apple butter for your jelly on buttered toast.  Use it to top your oatmeal.  Or sneak a spoonful from the jar for a sweet little snack.  Really, the possibilities are endless for this fall treat.

Fall 2010 098

Apple Butter by Chelsie

  • 4 apples, peeled and cored (I used McIntosh apples, but anything crisp and tart should work)
  • 1/4 cup water
  • cinnamon
  • nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp lemon juice

Start by peeling and coring your apples.  Sneak some peels while your at.  The peels are really good for you with all their yummy vitamins and fiber.

Fall 2010 074

After peeling and coring, dice the apples up. The smaller your chunks, the easier the apple will break down.  Shoo away anyone in the kitchen trying to sneak apple pieces.  You need all the apple goodness.

Fall 2010 077

Add your apples and 1/4 cup water to a pot and bring to a boil on the stove top.  Boil for about 20 minutes.  I sprinkled some cinnamon and nutmeg on top before boiling, and I suggest you do the same. Your kitchen should start to smell divine.

Fall 2010 078

 

 

Once your 20 minutes are up, take a potato masher or big spoon and start to smash the apples.  The apples should be super soft and should smash easily.

Fall 2010 081

Now add in your lemon juice and brown sugar. You can also throw in some more cinnamon and nutmeg.

Fall 2010 085

Stir it up and mash some more.  I ended up throwing this mixture in my mini food processor to smooth it out a bit.  If you don’t have a food processor, a blender would work just as well.

Fall 2010 090

Bring the apple mixture to a boil again.  Boil for another 25-30 minutes, stirring occasionally.  The mixture should thicken quite a bit.  Let cool completely and scoop it into an airtight container.  Luckily for me, I have all kinds of jars from my momma’s canning ventures.  I canned the butter and topped with a pretty piece of fabric.

Fall 2010 097

I’m off to enjoy the rest of my Sunday by making dinner, starting some reading for class, and catching an episode or 2 of Big Love.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

