Skip to content

In 2011, change you perspective on “cultivation”

January 17, 2011

source: lululemon

When you think of cultivation, you probably think of flowers and corn, gardening and farming. To most people, cultivation is agriculture.  Most people are wrong.

In 2010, I spent a lot of time being bitter about my station in life.  I was sick of being in law school and resentful that I would be graduating in a time when the economy was in the tank.  I hated that I never had time for me or my husband. I grew more and more bitter each time I had to miss a wedding , a birthday party, or any other kind of social gathering involving the people I used to associate with.  I was over worrying about money all.the.freaking.time.  I greatly disliked the person I became, and hated myself even more for not becoming the person I so desperately wanted to become.

Sound familiar?

Although you probably aren’t a law student, you may be unemployed or stuck in a crappy job that you swore you wouldn’t work at for the rest of your life. Or you may be stuck in a worthless relationship where you give and give and get nothing in return.  Regardless, you probably aren’t the person you thought you would or could be.

I don’t care if your 15 or 115, we all get in ruts.  Every single one of us questions ourselves and our lives.  We wonder if this is really it?

It isn’t.

Don’t like who you are?

Then change.

Don’t think you can?

Then change your perspective.

Cultivation isn’t just about farming or gardening.  Cultivation is about making the little choices each day that help you become the person you want to become.

For me, cultivation means turning off the TV when J and I eat dinner.  It means packing my bags each night so I manage to get out the door in time to make it to the gym each morning.  Cultivation means switching off the laptop to take time to read or journal. Each of these small choices will help me to get where I want to go.

In 2011, I challenge you to cultivate your life.  Picture who you want to be, set an achievable goal, and then write out your intention.  How will you get there? What choices will you make each day to cultivate yourself?

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

