Skip to content

The Green Monster Bandwagon

January 31, 2011

Happy Monday folks.

My weekend was quite uneventful.

I watched lots of this:

and I finally managed to say good-bye to this:

January 2011 019

good-bye baby J until next year.

January 2011 021

Yes it’s almost February and yes I still had our nativity scene up.  It was my grandma’s.  My parents made it for her when they first got married.  She gave it to me two years ago. And it’s my favorite.  Sorry I’m not sorry.

Seeing that spring break is in less than a month, I decided it was high and mighty time I cleaned up my diet.  I’m declaring February my month of detox (minus Super Bowl Sunday of course).

I eat plenty healthy, but I prefer whole milk in my coffee, real butter on my bread, and eggs fried in bacon grease.

Now detox to me does not mean drinking lemon, maple, and cayenne water and eating a carrot stick every 2 hours. Instead, it means eating clean and cutting sugars and processed food.  It may even mean giving up my beloved coffee (dear God help us all).  It’s doing all the things I know I should be doing but never really do, kind of like working-out.

To kick things off, I wanted to introduce you all to the green monster.  The green monster is nothing revolutionary, but if your new to the blog world, you may have never been formally introduced.

Readers, meet the green monster.

January 2011 016

Please, don’t go off running.  Yes, it’s green.  Yes, it’s made out of something you probably saw Popeye eat. But I promise this is delicious and tastes nothing like a salad.  In fact, you can’t even taste the greens.  Even J will drink them once and awhile.

January 2011 009

Original Green Monster

handful baby spinach leaves

1 cup almond milk

1 tbsp nut butter

1 frozen banana (about 5 slices)

optional: protein powder (I like to use chocolate)

Add spinach and almond milk into blender and blend until smooth.  Add banana and nut butter. Blend again and enjoy.

January 2011 015

Spinach is packed with all kinds of vitamins and nutrients, loaded with fiber, and provides a good source of protein.  Drink this a couple times a week and you will notice an increase in energy, improved gastrointestinal health (you know what I’m talking about) and maybe even clearer skin.

Besides all the “good for you” stuff, it tastes good.

If you want to know more, check out Angela’s site dedicated to this tasty treat: Green Monster Movement.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2011 8:57 pm

    May I also suggest the chocolate cherry bomb: http://bit.ly/c8QlBc

    I substitute Sun Warrior protein (vanilla) for hemp protein and chia seeds for hemp seeds. It’s pretty much to-die-for.

    • February 3, 2011 3:11 am

      That sounds so yummy. I have heard a lot about Sun Warrior protein. I may have to investigate as I am just about out of my staple protein powder.

  2. February 5, 2011 1:28 pm

    whoah this blog is fantastic i love reading your posts. Keep up the great work! You know, many people are searching around for this info, you can aid them greatly.

  3. February 7, 2011 4:11 am

    I LOVE green monsters! So yummy!

Leave a Reply

