Skip to content

28 days of yoga and the coffee struggle

February 2, 2011

Happy February.

Have you accomplished the goals you set at the start of the new year? Yeah, me either.

New month, new start, right?

I mentioned briefly that I was thinking about giving up my beloved coffee, not forever of course, but temporarily. You must understand, as a law student, coffee is my life line. It gets me through my 9 am income tax class and perks me up when I have a long night of studying ahead.  To say I may be a little bit addicted would probably be an understatement.

Jan 2011 012

Yup, that’s a Christmas mug. I embrace the holiday season well into spring.

I gave up coffee today. I tried real hard. I made it until 2. It was cold out and I had a pounding headache. Yes, these are excuses, but they are my excuses.  I only poured half a cup, and I didn’t add sugar, just half and half.  Small steps, small steps.

The beginning of February also marks the beginning of 28 days of yoga.  For the next 28 days, I will practice some form of yoga every day.  It may be 5 minutes it may be 45.  As much as I love yoga, I find myself pushing practicing aside.  This month that stops.

I started today with some back bends with Rodney Yee.  Nothing like giving my back and chest some love after being hunched over a computer or text book every.single.day.

Pose of the day:

ustrasana pose or camel pose (source)

This pose is yummy. I admit I’m not quite this bendy and only managed to put my hands on my rear.  Despite not reaching my feet, the stretch was still incredible.

Day 1 of 28 complete.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2011 1:53 am

    Ooh, now you’re making me want to get back into my yoga! I used to do Bikram yoga over the summer months and it was FANTASTIC. I loved being in a sweltering hot studio for two hours. Unfortunately, with school, there was little time to do it. Plus, it is VERY expensive when the studio isn’t offering a sale. 😉 I’m not paying $1500 a year for a hot room.

    But your post is making me miss it. And I remember doing that pose back when I was taking the classes. And I remember feeling so flexible and limber. Great post, and good luck on your coffee-fast. And thanks for inspiring me to try to get back into yoga! 🙂

    • February 2, 2011 2:35 pm

      Huma you should get back into yoga….you are taking the bar this summer right? It would be perfect timing! But I agree, $1500 would be way out of my budget too. Home practice is free 😉

  2. Leanne permalink
    February 2, 2011 5:08 am

    I fully object to you giving up coffee. Now who am I going to harass to feed my own personal law-student related habit? Or perhaps I need to drag you for brunch at French Meadow. Yummy…waffles. Orange juice.

    P.s. Why do I have to leave an email address? The last thing I need is more spam. 🙂

    • February 2, 2011 2:36 pm

      mmmm French Meadow! and I have no idea why you need to leave an email address. I thought I changed that. Something I will investigate today!

  3. February 2, 2011 8:53 pm

    You go, girl! You can totally do 28 days of yoga. And it’ll benefit you post-law school – imagine being the least stressed out attorney on the block? I heart coffee as well. Have you thought about using coconut milk creamer? It adds a lot of sweetness, too 🙂

    • February 3, 2011 3:07 am

      I haven’t tried the coconut milk creamer. I will look for it next time I’m at Whole Foods. Thanks for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

