Skip to content

Day 2 of 28 Days of Yoga

February 3, 2011

I woke up to a cat vomiting and a pounding headache.  Nothing says good morning like projectile cat puke spattering on the floor.

I took some ibuprofen, went back to bed, and skipped my morning swim. My body tells me the sleep was much appreciated.

Today’s yoga was all about abs.

February 2011 001

 

That’s Tara Stiles.  She’s like a yoga rock star or something. She’s gotten some flack from some hard core elitist yogis, but I find her style both approachable and maintainable, even for the super beginner.

Her book, Slim Calm Sexy Yoga, was easy to read and full of illustrations and explanations of poses.  It makes a great reference book.  She offers short routines (most can be done in 15-20 minutes) for slimming, calming, and sexifying.

Tonight, I whipped out her ab routine while watching Modern Family. Lily joined me.

February 2011 004

Are anybody else’s cat obsessed with their yoga mat? Both my kitties love to lay down in the middle of the mat as I attempt down dog.

In addition to my short little ab routine, I also did some relaxation poses (I don’t know if they are really considered relaxation poses but I think they are).

Pose of the day: Supported backbend

Source

 

I routinely do this pose whenever I am watching TV.  As I mentioned yesterday, I suffer from a tight upper chest and shoulders caused from being hunched over a computer all day.  If I don’t routinely stretch, I get horrible tension headaches. This pose really pulls apart the chest muscles and allows me to breathe deeply, helping me to prevent headaches.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

