Skip to content

Just Gotta Tri: I joined a triathlon team

February 10, 2011

clip_image002

photo credit: Luna Chix

I originally started Just Gotta Tri as a blog to document not only my cooking and baking ventures but also my triathlon training.  However, I soon became daunted by the thought of actually training for and doing a triathlon.  I didn’t have the slightest clue what I was doing.  I barely know how to swim.  The only bikes we own are my parents 1980 road bikes.  As much as I wanted to do one, it just didn’t seem feasible.

At the beginning of 2011, I made some goals.  I got out my arts and crafts supplies and made a vision board {check out Fitnessista for some ideas if you’re interested!}  I really believe that writing out what you want and thinking positively about yourself working towards those goals is the key to actually achieving goals.  On my 2011 vision board, I wrote some fitness goals.

  • I will swim 3 x a week.
  • I will practice yoga at least twice a week.
  • I will complete a triathlon.

You get the idea.  I knew I needed to become serious about swimming right away.  My endurance in the pool is lacking.  I can’t swim 100 yards straight.  Despite knowing this, my stick-to-itness in the pool hasn’t been there. If I didn’t start getting more comfortable in the pool, a triathlon in 2011 was not going to happen.

Then came an opportunity.  I heard a Luna Chix team was starting in Minneapolis.  I got some more information, and I joined the team. I didn’t know any of the ladies, and I really don’t know the first thing about actually doing a triathlon.  However, this was an opportunity to not only ensure I attained but my goal but clobbered it.  Plus, I get to raise money for an awesome organization {Breast Cancer Fund} and promote a great company.

Last night, I met most of the ladies for the first time.  We did some spinning at a local LA Fitness class and then took care of some team business.  I left the meeting feeling re-energized and excited for what lies ahead.  It’s like God knew exactly what I needed at this point in my life.

I will be blogging about the experience both here and on the Luna Chix MPLS blog whenever the site goes live.  I’m so excited to share this experience with you all!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

